Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification. let's hear about it here.

Custom face plate for aftermarket head unit

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2010, 04:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Custom face plate for aftermarket head unit

I'm thinking of installing the single din touch screen head unit from JVC with a trunk mounted navigation unit. Does anyone know of anyone who makes wood carved face plates for the 2000 XJ8?

JVC KD-AVX77 El Kameleon DVD/CD/USB Receiver is the unit model.

Old 09-15-2010, 01:43 AM

I carved the face place, but I have discovered that I am not good at painting wood.
This was way harder than I expected, but I'm almost there. I need to get a smooth coat of paint onto the face plate, install sat radio, and just slide the head unit back in. If anyone is tying this at home, be prepared to buy hundreds or feet in speaker wire, cables, etc. I decided to buy the JVC.

Last edited by Hanabal; 09-22-2010 at 11:35 PM.
Old 09-16-2010, 01:02 AM
Received 49 Likes on 34 Posts

i was thinking if you could find a junked XJ and get the wood for the passenger air bag...that piece could be cut to fit an aftermarket stereo...you'd have to know what you are doing but i think it would work and look pretty sweet...

Old 09-22-2010, 11:34 PM
Default This is hard!

I have been trying to make a face plate. The wood parts on old jags are very thin and usually have a metal plate on the back. I carved a piece of wood into a face place several times, broke it and re-carved it. I finally got one that is in good shape but now I'm having paint trouble. I went with the JVC touch screen radio head. I have everything wired and working. I even got the iPhone 3Gs to work for phone and bluetooth streaming. Status photos are below.

This was my last attempt after failing many times.