Diesel variants - All models Visit here for discussions on diesel powerplants and the impressive torque / mpg figures achievable....

2.7d restricted performance

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2022, 02:58 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.7d restricted performance

Newbie here in need of some remote diagnostics.

s-type 2.7d 2007

From cold, starts and runs fine for 5-10 mins then restricted performance kicks in….no smoke, just the loss of acceleration and power.
same every morning…fine, then not fine.

There seems to be a million different reasons for restricted performance…. Anyway of narrowing it down without throwing the parts catalogue at it?

new fuel filter didn’t sort it.

TIA

Old 04-21-2022, 03:27 PM
Received 240 Likes on 182 Posts

Just read the trouble codes by OBD2 reader. If you don´t own one, pretty much any mechanic shop have for sure and will read the codes for low money.

Old 04-22-2022, 03:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by Vasara
Just read the trouble codes by OBD2 reader. If you don´t own one, pretty much any mechanic shop have for sure and will read the codes for low money.
should have mentioned - no codes🙁

Old 04-28-2022, 12:28 PM
Received 240 Likes on 182 Posts

No codes.. huh..
Hmm.. The fuel added are calculated by measured airflow by MAF sensor(s). These (2pcs) are right next to the airfilter box. There are spray solvent meant for cleaning MAF sensors. (do not touch the thin wires inside of the duct, they are fragile) During cleaning you can try to swap places of the two sensors. Upper one are for secondary (+2800rpm) and lower for primary.
This are pretty much only issue what i can think without codes...

Old 03-05-2023, 05:45 PM
Received 35 Likes on 28 Posts

Hi So Good,