Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2016 F Type S - Headlight Adjustment

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2023, 08:36 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2016 F Type S - Headlight Adjustment

Good Morning !

I'm new to the Jag forum and a new F Type owner (2016 S).

I hope this is the forum to post this but wanted to pitch in with a little headlight adjustment story.

I bought my F Type from out of state and had it shipped to me in NC. Due to the nature of the purchase I'm still waiting for a temp tag to be able to drive it on the open road. I have however been able to do so within the subdivision I live in. I took it out on the first night and noticed a huge issue with the headlight alignment (up and down). The beam was lighting up the road no more than 15 to 20 feet ahead of me, and the subdivision doesn't have street lighting.

I literally couldn't see a thing as I approached an intersection, high beam seemed normal.

With some investigation I discovered the adjustment screws and have attempted to make a small adjustment this morning so we'll wait and see tonight if I have enough or too much.

I wondered how this could have happened? The only thing that I could arrive at that made sense was roadway vibration slowly causing the screws to move the lights downwards? I suppose it's not such a big deal if you live in a well lit urban area.

Any way I hope this helps any future owners with a similar issue, I saw left right adjustment too if that's a problem for anyone?

Old 02-19-2023, 01:48 PM
GGG
Received 16,861 Likes on 12,186 Posts

Welcome to the forums Campbell65,

I've moved your post from F-Pace to F-Type forum.
Graham

Old 02-19-2023, 03:01 PM
scm
Veteran Member
Received 1,482 Likes on 1,122 Posts

I've read quite a few complaints that headlights are aimed too low. Best to find a flat wall in a (dark) car park and set them up in there.

Old 02-19-2023, 05:57 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,226 Likes on 2,380 Posts