F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

About to purchase an F-Type. Please read!

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2023, 11:15 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default About to purchase an F-Type. Please read!

Hello, all!

Long time leaser of vehicles. Getting ready to purchase my dream car.

2015 Jaguar F-Type R V8 with only 19,000 miles & I am excited yet nervous! I am going through the process with CarMax. It has a clean history, no accidents, only 2 owners. Went through vehicle history on the phone in great detail with the representative. Will not pull the trigger until I actually see/test drive the car.

Does anyone have any advice/recommendations for me? Tips, things to know, etc.?

Should I buy a warranty? I am already toward the top of my budget, so I’m not sure if I should get one or not.

Please, any advice on the car or the purchasing process I will take into consideration. I am a newbie when it comes to Jaguar, but I have also done my research on the F-Type. Thank you in advance!

Old 08-04-2023, 02:03 PM
Veteran Member
Received 606 Likes on 410 Posts

I always worry about how a premium car ends up at Carmax (or Carvana). Not to say it can't be fine, but I'd recommend getting it independently inspected before you close the deal. Extended warranty is a tricky choice. The fact is that about half the price is expected profit to the insurer. So, the "odds" are that you'd be leaving money on the table to get one. On the other hand, you mentioned that you're tight on budget, so you may not be ready to risk the cost of a significant repair. The Carmax has gotten some favorable comments - but not universally. In general, it's a good idea to shop around - but - don't just buy on price. Some companies specialize is finding ways to not pay your claim (not a covered item, abuse, modified, normal wear, etc). There are more stories from people who couldn't get their repair covered than from ones whose warranty saved their bacon.