F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any experience with lemon law buy backs?

Search this Thread

Old 01-12-2016, 06:25 PM
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Any experience with lemon law buy backs?

I'm looking at an f type which is well optioned and extremely well priced. It's a lemon law buy back. This will be my first jag and I have no experience with their dealerships obviously. Of course they say the car is now back to perfect condition and remains under warranty. Does anyone have any experience with JLR and lemon law buy backs?

Old 01-12-2016, 06:30 PM
Veteran Member
Received 580 Likes on 340 Posts

Someone on the forum I think bought a lemon and was able to get JLR to take it back. Do lemon laws apply to used car?

Old 01-12-2016, 06:37 PM
Received 64 Likes on 45 Posts

Personally, I believe the only downside is that if you purchase a Lemon Law Buyback, that will be on the cars permanent record and would likely affect resale value down the road. A neighbor had a dealer take back a BMW that had a series of electronic glitches and weird behavior that the dealer simply could not ever fix properly. Out of curiosity he looked up the CARFAX history several years later and the car continued to have service visits for electronics problems. So perhaps the idea of a "lemon" is not just superstition.

Old 01-12-2016, 06:46 PM
Received 397 Likes on 210 Posts

Originally Posted by IMMD
I'm looking at an f type which is well optioned and extremely well priced. It's a lemon law buy back. This will be my first jag and I have no experience with their dealerships obviously. Of course they say the car is now back to perfect condition and remains under warranty. Does anyone have any experience with JLR and lemon law buy backs?
It depends on what the lemon law buyback was for. If its superficial and you plan on buying the car then you'll get a great deal. My guess is that the F Type you are looking was lemon lawed for one of these or combined: