F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Brake Pads Worn Warning Light

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2019, 08:19 AM
Received 190 Likes on 95 Posts
Question Brake Pads Worn Warning Light

Anyone else ever have this? Wondering how "worn" they really are. They certainly don't feel like it. Performance seems the same. Thanks for any input

Old 09-18-2019, 08:26 AM
Veteran Member
Received 374 Likes on 280 Posts

The only real way to know is to measure the thickness of the pad material.

Old 09-18-2019, 10:22 AM
Received 57 Likes on 30 Posts

Change them before it's too late. You still have time though. I have been rolling on 0mm for 4 months but just in town. Lol

The following users liked this post:
Jaguar1611 (09-18-2019)
Old 09-18-2019, 11:59 AM
Veteran Member
Received 591 Likes on 407 Posts

Originally Posted by lossking_
I have been rolling on 0mm for 4 months but just in town.
This guy complained about a noise when braking, even though he didn't have trouble stopping.

Old 09-18-2019, 12:02 PM

Originally Posted by Carbuff2
This guy complained about a noise when braking, even though he didn't have trouble stopping.
😂😂😂

Well Im getting them changed as we speak. The warning light comes on but you still have at least 1mm left

The following users liked this post:
Jaguar1611 (09-18-2019)
Old 09-18-2019, 05:34 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,226 Likes on 2,380 Posts

According to JLR all their cars with low brake pad sensors (and the associated warning on the dash) are meant to trigger when the pad gets down to 25% of new thickness.
New front pads are 13 mm thick and new rear pads are 10.8 mm thick and minimum thickness before replacement is required is 2 mm (same across the range of iron brakes, CCM are different).
So if the wear sensor/warning is accurate you still have plenty of pad left when it triggers and no need to panic just yet.