F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

car not starting

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2022, 10:12 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default car not starting

Hey guys, so i have a 2015 jaguar f type R. As i was driving one day it was driving normal then a few seconds later it started running really rough and a knocking sound coming from the top of the engine so i parked the car at a friends house after 3 mins of driving and now the car won’t start, it would turn but not crank so the car has oil, battery is fully charged, new alternator and starter. when i scanned the car i got these codes; P0A0F(engine failed to start) and P0011( camshaft position timing over advanced) btw i’m a mechanic and i honestly ran out on ideas on why it won’t start. i’d appreciate you guys ideas!

Old 03-16-2022, 10:33 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,612 Likes on 863 Posts

Just sent PM.

Last edited by RickyJay52; 03-16-2022 at 01:06 PM.
Old 03-16-2022, 10:40 AM
DJS
Veteran Member
Received 2,154 Likes on 1,443 Posts

Not sure what you mean by 'turn but not crank.' A few people have had poor grounds in the engine bay; you might double check the ground stud or studs.

Old 03-16-2022, 10:55 AM

Originally Posted by DJS
Not sure what you mean by 'turn but not crank.' A few people have had poor grounds in the engine bay; you might double check the ground stud or studs.
grounds are good. can a bad VVT cause it to not start?

Old 03-16-2022, 10:57 AM
Veteran Member
Received 614 Likes on 422 Posts

From the codes (and the noise), looks to me as if a timing chain stretched or jumped a tooth.

Old 03-16-2022, 10:58 AM

Originally Posted by RickyJay52
Posted prematurely.
i saw your reply and thank you and i can make a video on when i try to start it and can it be possible that a bad VVT can cause a car to not start?

Old 03-16-2022, 10:59 AM
Veteran Member
Received 986 Likes on 566 Posts

Based on your code(s). Possible or probable causes are: