F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Future F-Type Lease Owner - Question

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2015, 09:48 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Future F-Type Lease Owner - Question

I am new to leasing, have a Mercedes who's lease is up in a few months, and I have a quick question. I read somewhere that you can turn a lease in, regardless of the make, to any dealership and if the car is worth more than the residual you can use this as a down payment. I was wondering if someone had any info on how this works or if I am just way off base.

Thanks!

Old 09-23-2015, 11:25 AM
Received 59 Likes on 49 Posts

Originally Posted by stdjrm17
I am new to leasing, have a Mercedes who's lease is up in a few months, and I have a quick question. I read somewhere that you can turn a lease in, regardless of the make, to any dealership and if the car is worth more than the residual you can use this as a down payment. I was wondering if someone had any info on how this works or if I am just way off base.

Thanks!
It isn't quite so easy as that. Basically the way it works is the dealership buys the car from the leasing company at the current "pay off" value. The difference between the offer that the dealership makes and the pay off value is what you have to work with. If the number is positive (car is worth more than the pay off) then the dealership owes you money, and they can cut you a check or you can use it for a down payment. If that number is negative (pay off is more than the value of the car) then you owe the dealership, and they can generally roll that into the financing for a new vehicle.

So, you can't "turn in" the car but you can sell it to any dealership. Doesn't matter if you're buying a car there or not (unless your net value is negative, of course.)