F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with Intake Valve Cleaning V6SC

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2020 | 09:19 AM
|
Default Help with Intake Valve Cleaning V6SC

I’m a newbie and have learned so much from this forum thanks! I have read on methods to clean the intake valves with CRC and it has come apparent that the easiest method is to use the brake booster vacuum line as recommended by OzXFR. But another member XJ8JR asked if “Using that brake vacuum line, wouldn't the intake on just one bank get cleaned?” That is also my question.

Can anyone shed some light on that or make any recommendations to the best way to do an Intake Valve carbon cleaning on the V6SC? Thanks in advance.

Old 10-10-2020 | 09:34 AM

I personally have not seen any effective way to remove carbon build up on the valves using chemicals injected into the air flow through the manifold.

The most effective method to decarbonise the inlet valves on direct injection engines is to remove the inlet manifold/supercharger and use walnut shells to blast the carbon on the back of the valves. The engine must be rotated to ensure the valves are closed on each cylinder in turn. Once the carbon has been loosened, it can be vacuumed out and the manifold/supercharger reinstalled.

Old 10-10-2020 | 10:03 AM
Veteran Member

Originally Posted by NBCat
I personally have not seen any effective way to remove carbon build up on the valves using chemicals injected into the air flow through the manifold.

The most effective method to decarbonise the inlet valves on direct injection engines is to remove the inlet manifold/supercharger and use walnut shells to blast the carbon on the back of the valves. The engine must be rotated to ensure the valves are closed on each cylinder in turn. Once the carbon has been loosened, it can be vacuumed out and the manifold/supercharger reinstalled.
How often do you recommend doing that? Every 50 or 100k miles?

Old 10-10-2020 | 10:05 AM