Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP with potential TFype awd 400 sport

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2018, 08:48 AM
Received 32 Likes on 20 Posts
Default HELP with potential TFype awd 400 sport

Hi Guys,
I'm a newbie to the forum and hopefully I will be a new F-Type owner by eow!
However before pulling the trigger, I have some questions and would really need help.
I was offered a stunning 2018 F-type 400 Sport Awd Black with Yellow ceramic brakes.
It would be a lease takeover 34 months, 61000km.
Here's my questions:
1- I'm a little bit scare of the ceramic brake..How long does they last, obviously approx (I'm a soft driver)?
I heard it's like 20k to replace them, so that would definitely be a no go!
2- I'm considering driving the car in winter, my work commute is about 8km back and forth (I live in Montreal). Anyone experienced driving the car in winter?
If so what tires do you recommend? I was on tirerack earlier and couldn't find winter with sizes needed..
My previous car was an Audi S5 (dropped with 20" wheels) and never had any issues. When needed I will taking my wife F-Pace , currently mine.
3- Was the average annual cost on maintenance?

Looking forward to heard back your answers and feedback!
Thx in advance!

Old 07-29-2018, 01:21 PM
Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts

I drive my S awd in wintertime, goes well, need to pay attention to deep snow given our ground clearance, but other than this no issue.

Old 07-29-2018, 01:39 PM

Originally Posted by Brava
I drive my S awd in wintertime, goes well, need to pay attention to deep snow given our ground clearance, but other than this no issue.
Thanks for your feedback!

Old 07-29-2018, 01:40 PM
Veteran Member
Received 981 Likes on 732 Posts

I have heard that ceramic brakes can be noisy in daily use, and that they need to heat up before they work optimally. I don't have them, so hopefully someone with personal experience will chime in.