F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Newbie thinking of buying an F-Type

Search this Thread

Old 04-21-2020, 09:02 PM
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Newbie thinking of buying an F-Type

hello folks, newbie here. i don't own a jag, nor have i ever. the wife owns a LR disco and likes it. i've been driving an m3 convertible, but it's getting old now and i've been eyeing an f-type for its looks and power for a while now. speaking to a handful of dealerships across the country looking at a new blue or gray R convertible (love that V8). hoping someone can talk me out of it! reading through some posts across a few forums, it does seem these cars are pretty reliable for what they, which is hard to believe...yet makes me feel good about the choice.
i'm hoping to get some feedback not only on the car, but also on the options to choose. i live in tx so cooled seats are a hard yes, but pretty much everything else is an option. what i see in dealerships is that ticking that box tends to tick a majority of the others, except for maybe wheel choices. but i do see some oddness in some choices.
the current state of things takes seeing these cars in person off the table (plus i'm shopping nationwide) and i'm questioning discrepancies between window stickers and photos of cars and i'm wondering if this is normal. for example, a car that doesn't have a heated steering wheel listed on the window sticker, but the photos show a steering wheel with the heater button. or a car with climate 1 package and heated and cooled seats, but no dual zone climate, etc. is this normal? is there a way to easily look up options by the VIN? i'd prefer to not show my hand and ask the dealer that has the car and point out the car has an option they don't list. lastly, any tips when negotiation with jag dealers, or pretty much the same as with any other?
thanks a lot everyone. hoping to join the group soon and start driving one myself!

Old 04-21-2020, 10:42 PM
Banned