F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Oil and Filter Change

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2021, 09:43 AM
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Question Oil and Filter Change

I'm new to the F-Type and want to change oil and filter myself when the car is laid up for winter. I've been working on cars for >40 years, and am familiar with the process for the F-Type (thank you YouTube!), but have a couple of questions:

1) is it necessary to replace the drain plug with a new one at each oil change?
2) should the oil pan drain plug threads be coated in anything (eg anti-seize) prior to installation?
3) is my local Jaguar dealer a reasonable place to obtain parts (filter, drain plug, air filets, etc.) or would you recommend another source - perhaps for pricing or other reasons?
4) do you have any advice?

Thanks!
Steve

Old 09-10-2021, 09:52 AM
Veteran Member
Received 386 Likes on 270 Posts

While I have not done an oil change on my F-Type, I believe the consensus is to suck the oil out via the fill position using a MityVac.
Much easier than draining. Also, to measure the oil sucked out and refill to the same volume to avoid the dreaded overfill.
MitVacs are about $100 or so.
I am still expecting my dealer to do my changes for free for the next 5 years!!
My understanding is that it is expensive to buy the correct JLR spec oil from your dealer and almost impossible to find the correct Castrol version in the US.
I purchased
Liqui Moly Special Tec LR SAE 0W-20 5 Liter   Liqui Moly Special Tec LR SAE 0W-20 5 Liter
which meets the JLR spec.
I used 1 pint for a minor top-up during the break-in period, since when it has used no oil..

Last edited by CJSJAG; 09-10-2021 at 09:58 AM.
Old 09-10-2021, 09:59 AM
Received 368 Likes on 236 Posts