Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Restricted Performance - Throttle Position Sensor

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday | 01:28 PM
|
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Restricted Performance - Throttle Position Sensor

Hey all! I'm a relative newbie here and to owning a Jaguar / luxury performance vehicle in general. I bought my '16 AWD R about 2.5 years ago. I've been plagued by the Restricted Performance mode on several occasions (including at the drag strip two summers ago, that ~48 second 1/4 mile was a memorable one, and I genuinely plan to frame the slip), but it's always intermittent. I did manage to get it scanned and when I looked up the code it was related to the Throttle Position Sensor. It's my first fly-by-wire vehicle, and unfortunately, my experience w/ that system has been abysmal. It goes through periods where it surges at partial throttle, and that's usually a clear-cut sign it's about go into limp mode. I can also trigger it sometimes by just revving at idle -- any fast change in throttle position will often trigger it (that's not the least bit embarrassing when you're trying to rev for somebody upon request, btw ), so I'm reasonably sure that's the problem.