F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Supercharger Removal Guide (Detailed)

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2020, 12:04 AM
Received 64 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Supercharger Removal Guide (Detailed)

Big thanks to everyone who helped me including TheRock, OzXFR and HolyFtype
I hope this write up helps someone else- obvious disclaimers apply- I'm an amateur mechanic so I may have made some mistakes, proceed at your own risk.

I have published another version of this guide at my (motorcycle!) website with A LOT more pictures ; https://classicairheads.com/blog/202...r-replacement/

Supercharger Removal and Reinstall for V6 F-Type

There are many reasons you might want to remove the supercharger in your Jaguar F-Type. Like me, you may have suffered a coolant pipe failure under the supercharger (a design fault), or you might need to replace the supercharger coupler. Or you might just be really bored and want to take your car apart. It happens, I understand you.

Resources:

The following threads on various forums were helpful in getting this project and this document over the line:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/f...emoval-202630/
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...emoval-188511/
https://www.ftypeforums.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=4525
https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/x...-189632/page2/

Overview

The supercharger sits on top of the engine block between the two cylinder heads. It has the intake manifolds bolted to its sides and the charger air cooler (intercooler) sitting on top of it. The large aluminium charge air cooler is what you see when you pop the plastic engine cover off.
The supercharger has the belt and air intake/throttle body at the front, and a number of electrical, fuel, vacuum and coolant lines attached to it at various places all of which need to be removed to get the supercharger out making this a moderately big job. Having said that, if you go slowly and take a lot of photos it is achievable for the average home mechanic.