Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track modifications to a RWD Coupe R

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2018 | 03:35 AM
|
Default Track modifications to a RWD Coupe R

Hi guys,

I will start tracking my 2015 Coupe R a lot more next year and partake in the Swedish Time Attack series among other things. I am a novice to racing but tracked my F-type three times in 2018 (twice in Sweden and once at the Nurburgring) and totally, completely fell in live with it.

However, I realize that the F-Type isn't the ideal track toy and I would like to keep its GT credentials to some extent as well, so now comes the challenge to do relevant modifications to it in order for it to perform better at the track while still OK to take on road trips.

FType17 gave me a list of priorities in another thread:
1. Weight saving (wheels at the minimum)
2. Suspension (anti roll bars, springs, shocks)
3. Power (tune, pulley)
4. Tires

As I am also new to car modifications/ tuning I would really appreciate some guidance in following the list above.

Wheels: I currently have a spare set of gyrodynes with a set of ContiForceContacts on that I just bought, just for tracking. What kind of wheels save weight? Would that change tire dimensions?

Suspension: Is anti roll bars the best place to start? If so, any recommendations? If I change shocks, will that have an impact on the adjustable suspension, so it's not adjustable through changing driving modes? Springs - can I get harder springs without lowering the car? I'd prefer not to lower it for aesthetic reasons. If so, any recommendations?

Power: Is it recommended to do an engine tune without changing other things, such as air intakes? Can you do changes like changing pulley yourself, or is that better done by a pro?

Grateful for any input! Also, if you have your times around the Nurburgring feel free to share.

Old 12-24-2018 | 04:47 AM
KVO

If tracking, you'll need to take strength in account too when looking for wheels.