F-Type ( X152 ) 2014 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Track weekend photos/video from COTA.

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2018, 09:24 PM
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Track weekend photos/video from COTA.

Tracked the RWD British Design Edition this past weekend at Circuit of the Americas (COTA). Car performed very well. I removed the plastic engine cover and the cargo privacy cover, but other than that, it was completely stock. Brakes never faded, but I was lifting a bit at the end of the back straight, and I'm a green group driver as well. Coming from relatively light cars (E36 M3, Cayman S, AP2 S2000), the F-Type is heavy, but it still handled very well at track. Left traction control on, and put Dynamic Mode on all factory settings. First two sessions were wet, and the stock Pirellis worked well. Here's the link to a video of two decent laps I put together. The instructor was clapping on the second lap at turn 12 because I had been having problems with it. Kept coming in too fast, and going out wide. Audio isn't great. The windslayer on the GoPro muffled out the exhaust note. There were 100+ cars there, and this was the only F-Type. My instructor, who has 4 track cars, was thoroughly impressed with the handling, although he did think it was a bit underpowered. I had to tell more than one person that this did not have a 500+ hp motor. I think a lot of people correlate the F-Type with the "R" model, and don't realize that there is an "S" as well. Anyways, enjoy.

The following 3 users liked this post by IlMostro796:
Burt Gummer (01-29-2018), Don1954 (01-30-2018), ndabunka (01-31-2018)
Old 01-29-2018, 09:35 PM
Received 64 Likes on 53 Posts

Let's see where the drool button is now that my keyboard is all wet. *Jealous*

The following users liked this post:
ndabunka (01-30-2018)
Old 01-29-2018, 10:49 PM
Veteran Member
Received 3,209 Likes on 2,366 Posts