General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

car over heating 2006 jaguar xk8

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2024, 01:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default car over heating 2006 jaguar xk8

Have replaced with new water pump, thermastat, new radiator, flushed system though not sure I was successful in that I am not sure that I have circulation because I am not getting heat from the heator, even after I removed the thermastat. looking for help and I am very frustated. By the way I am new to this forum.

Old 02-08-2024, 01:51 PM
Received 30 Likes on 20 Posts

While I am not an expert on xk8's, this is not an uncommon issue across any ICE vehicles. First things first, when you did all that work, did you ensure you bled or burped all the air out of the coolant hoses? Also, if you are concerned about coolant flowing, have you tried to use a mechanics's stethoscope to listen for it? You can easily hear coolant flowing with one of those. You mentioned the vehicle overheated, but your description sounds as though you simply "parts canoned" it. Were you able to perform any actual diagnosis to see what the problem may have actually been? Asking bc usually (not always true, but usuall), the pump and thermostat doesn't go out at the same time. It is usually one or the other.

Old 02-08-2024, 02:12 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 jaguar xj8 over heating replaced, radiator, thermonstat, other things