General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Choosing The Right Cat

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2011, 02:17 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Choosing The Right Cat

Hello. I'm looking into buying a Jaguar early next year. I think my choices will be monetarily limited to 90-00. With this in mind, can I ask advice on the reliability, difficulty of garage repair, and general information on the various models in that time period?

I'm a shade tree mechanic. I can tackle most issues myself once I know where they are. I'm also versed in bodywork. Maintaining my Jaguar shouldn't be a problem. But I would think that the reputation of one model might shadow another, or the engine of this car be better than that.

Educate me, if you please.

Old 07-29-2011, 05:15 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,886 Likes on 3,193 Posts

Iqon, what sort of price range are we looking at here. I think you may find that you can get something a little newer for what you are looking at spending. The price of the cats (along with the other higher end cars) have dropped in the last few years and it has made them very easy to get.