General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Clean grime of engine

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2013, 11:22 AM
Received 16 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Clean grime of engine

I have found this forum to be very helpful, so I would like to try to offer a small repayment for all of the great advice I have found here. Unfortunately, I am new to the Jaguar world which limits the specific advice that I can offer. However, I have worked on all kinds of cars over the past 50+ years, and I have learned some general tricks along the way. I would like to offer one of those here.

One problem I often face is cleaning years of oil and dirt build up in hard to reach areas of the engine - such as on top of and below the intake manifold or around the spark plug "valley" on my S-type. The real challenge is cleaning these areas without splattering grime on other parts of the engine. The tools I use for this job include a shop vacuum, several small brushes of various sizes, a squirt bottle filled with mineral spirits, and an air compressor spray nozzle that I have found very useful.

The process is really very simple. I use the squirt bottle to spray an area with mineral spirits, and then I use the brushes to loosen the grime. The final step is to hold the business end of the shop vacuum near the area being cleaned and to use low pressure compressed air to spray the mineral spirits and grime mixture toward the vacuum pickup. This removes the grime from the engine without splattering it into unwanted areas. It works amazingly well.