General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Jaguar XF 2010 premium 5.0 coolant issues..

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2023, 12:10 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jaguar XF 2010 premium 5.0 coolant issues..

Wasn’t sure if to put this into the intro but here we go.. 2010 XF, I’ve had it for about 3 1/2 years now. I have about 90k miles so yes I am a everyday driver until recently.. About 2 years ago I had the coolant light come on a day or two right after an oil change. As an idiot and this being my first V8 vech, I live about 20 minutes from the dealership here in Carmel and so I drove it to the dealership. That was the worst thing I could do. Water pump, hoses, coolant tank and timing belt need to be replaced costing me about $4k. Was lucky that the engine wasn’t damaged. After this anytime any light or anything comes on I tow to dealership. After that everything’s been relatively good. Dare I say amazing. Then.. around mid Feb this year, normal yearly oil change scheduled and completed. About beginning of April, coolant light comes on. I’m now told that it’s the age of the vehicle and that the engine is working a little harder, about every 2 to 3 months the coolant may be draining a bit faster now. I can get that at 90k miles. But.. after getting the coolant topped off, a week later the light came back on. So now my buddy has just been sitting in the garage and not driven or turned on since the light came back on. Okay so, I just turned the car on and opened the hood. I let it run for about five minutes and I don’t see any leaking around the tank or anything looking out of the ordinary aside from me needing a car wash. When I look at the Coolant tank it’s seeming to look like it’s filtering into the tank from the top or something…? Not sure how to explain what I’m seeing but I am gonna purchase some coolant next time I drop by but I’m not sure if to schedule a appointment or not and ask if they c