General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

oil cooler

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2014, 10:32 PM
Received 34 Likes on 24 Posts
Default oil cooler

Hi again to all on the forum, as some of you have read some of my posts about the trouble I had getting my car from the IRS and my trip across the great US via route 66 I thought I would add my problem with oil in the coolant. Two reasons to leave my newly purchased XK at the dealer I bought it from in Pheonix Az, 1: I wanted to drive it across the US in nice weather (not January) 2: The car had oil in the coolant. As a long time tech my mind went straight to a head gasket problem, so as part of the deal they would install a lower milage engine with a warranty which I was happy with. However after arriving to pick up my car and finding it impounded my mind was't on an engine it was only later after I got it back did I see I had the same problem. After going to a local repair shop,raising the car on a hoist, seeing the newly replaced engine did I believe it was really replaced like the dealer told me. Since oil in coolant and no coolant in the oil meant it was a oil pressure over coolant pressure ( oil pressure is somewhere in the 50 psi range while coolant is only about 15 psi) I thought the only thing the two engines had in common was the oil cooler. $800 bucks and several coolant flushes later and a bypassed oil cooler I was on the road again! After getting home I was concerned my temporary fix would fail so I went to the local junk yard and found a 4.6 Ford in an mid 90's pick up with a short oil filter threaded bolt then removed my busted oil cooler and installed a new filter. Since none where in stock in Pheonix and wouldn't be for a week I made this high pressure hose fix that got me home.As our climate is not near what it is in Arizona I may leave it this way.Pics should give you an idea of what I've been talking about.