General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

That reputation of overheating on vintage XK engines

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2023, 04:49 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default That reputation of overheating on vintage XK engines

Big HELLO to all, first time poster and total newbie.

Vintage Jag with XK engine had a reputation of prone to overheating. It may not be justified, but it was out there, especially in tropical countries that I lived in the '70s and '80s. When any engine overheated, the usual suspects were be defective water pump, thermostat, radiator, hose, fan, or simply not enough coolants. But all those could happen to all engines, right? Why the XK were singled out? Could the block or head played a part? such as undersized water passage etc?

I am debating to get a XK150, but I live in Palm Springs, California now. Here in the desert, summer temperature, well, today is 115F or 45C. I am trying to get myself educated.

Any help and input would be highly appreciated.

Old 08-04-2023, 10:39 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,929 Likes on 3,225 Posts

Rose, Welcome to the Forums. Please stop by the New Member Section and tell us a little bit more about you and your dreams. You will find we are a very curious and friendly community. This will also give you a chance to meet those that make this place what it is. We pride ourselves in being a better car group.