General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

rim runout and vibration diagnosis

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2023, 11:36 AM
Veteran Member
Received 445 Likes on 282 Posts
Default rim runout and vibration diagnosis

Anyone have an experience/expertise on rim runout? I've been chasing a vibration on my XJ for several years now. Been through multiple sets of tires, road force balances, been to 2 different rim shops, measured runout on my own, etc etc. I'm tired of chasing this and getting bad info from "pro" shops. Everything on the suspension is fine, bushings have been replaced. I'm fairly sure it's tire related because rotating tires front to back does change the vibration I feel in the steering wheel.

I realize the only way to really check the rim runout is to dismount the tires and measure at the inside beads. Barring that, do measurements at the face of the rim have any meaningful value? I'm talking about 0.050" not a rim that's been bent over 45 degrees. If I measure radial and lateral runout at the inside edge, I get within 0.015".

Is it worth trying to find a shop that can do a vibration analysis and pinpoint which corner or if it's wheel/drivetrain vibration before I go any further? I'm thinking the only other thing I can do is buy a reconditioned rim, measure it, and swap one tire to have a known good. Doesn't help, though, if I have more than 1 bent rim.

Any advice/thoughts appreciated.

Michael

Old 10-10-2023, 12:51 PM
Veteran member
Received 3,929 Likes on 3,225 Posts

MIchael, I would try rotating the tires front to rear only on 1 side of the car. If the vibration changes, then you know the rear tire on the side that you just swapped is aiding to the problem. If things remain constant, then swap the other side only. See if the vibes change then.