General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Strange Voltage Fluctuations

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2013, 01:52 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Strange Voltage Fluctuations

Hello, I'm a serious do-it-yourself mechanic and always have been good with fixing my own cars and troubleshooting, however I am a Jaguar newbie and I can't seem to figure the issue with my 1997 XJ6L (X300). She has about 182k miles on her now.

So here's the problem. The car's voltage seems to dip randomly causing it to chug a bit, either at idle or at low mph. The volt gauge never reads any higher than the 13 but seems to dip dramatically to almost the half-mark between 9 and 13.

Also, at highway speed, say 70 mph, it will hold steady above 13 then drop periodically. I haven't done any voltmeter testing myself, but did have the folks at autozone hook up their tester and they said the charging system is fine, as is the battery. I'm not sure if I fully trust that assumption though, mind you.

In my mind I immediately thought a bad ground, or the voltage regulator could be shoddy, but honestly, I'm not sure what to think considering the intricacies of the esteemed Jag. Ha! I'm also pretty certain the car wasn't well cared for prior to us owning it if that assists any theories.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Old 07-25-2013, 02:10 AM
Veteran Member
Received 664 Likes on 572 Posts

I would take a set of voltage readings yourself. It could be the voltage regulator or loose connections. Worth checking either way.

Old 07-25-2013, 06:49 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,887 Likes on 3,194 Posts