General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

XJ (2012) X351 SWB Steering vibration(a little)

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2022, 02:08 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Smile XJ (2012) X351 SWB Steering vibration(a little)

I am new to owning an XJ(only had her for two months) so maybe this is normal, but considering the fact that it is a luxury car, I cannot think that it is!

Anyway, I will spin my yarn.

Just recently I have noticed as my speed passes 60mph that there is a little vibration felt through the steering wheel, and if I remove my hands from said steering wheel there is a little drift, but very little which in all honesty could be caused by the road surface, camber, etc!

It is the vibration that bothers me because everything else is so seamlessly smooth, as you would expect from an XJ.

Incidentally, the car is fitted with 20" wheels, not sure if this is relevant.

Please advise!

Regards

Old 05-01-2022, 09:21 AM
Veteran member
Received 3,892 Likes on 3,199 Posts

jagtwit, high speed vibrations are normally caused by 2 things. They are either bad alignment or bent rim. Both are somewhat easy to diagnose. Simply going and getting an alignment done is not that expensive. This is where I will tell you that odds are, the shop that does the alignment will not meet Jaguar specs as you are supposed to put 80 KG (160 pounds) (or something in that range) in the driver's seat to simulate the driver before aligning it. It doesn't change it much, but there is a slight difference. I have noticed that my XJ will start to get a wobble to it when the alignment is say 2 years old and it is out by just that little bit.