I-Pace EV 2018 - Onwards
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

3 years old HSE - is this risky?

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2021, 03:41 PM
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 3 years old HSE - is this risky?

Hi forum!

I'm new to BEVs, still driving a hybrid Lexus GS 450h but started to look for its successor. The I-Pace was not even on my radar until a few weeks ago, and since then I've read and watched a huge amount of I-Pace info over the web. It was impressive and the mount of PROS was much higher than CONS. I decided to test drive it and preferred a used one since a new HSE costs here a sum equivalent to GBP 138,000 (one hundred thirty-eight thousand, this is not a joke).
A few hours ago I tested a 2018 HSE demo/press vehicle which is up for sale, now with 41,000 km (25,500 miles). The car looks, feels and even smells like new, fit and finish is immaculate and I was truly, very very very impressed with the instant power and overall refinement the I-Pace have (my current GS with its 345 hp is no slouch either, but the I-Pace shove is on a different level) - I handed back the Jaguar key and made up my mind that it very well can be my next daily. Until a few hours later, as some doubts started to creep and that's why I'm posting this here... This I-Pace' overall warranty ends in 5 months and the battery is covered until October 2026 (5.5 years from now) but I was astonished to learn that a new battery costs a fortune by any standard - locally it's equivalent to GBP 66,000 (!) excluding labour... what? what?? even assuming that I'll keep the car just before its battery cover ends, what are the chances this I-Pace will stay with me for the rest of my life as no one will ever be brave or silly enough to purchase an expensive BEV without a battery warranty, and risk such a huge price to replace it if something goes wrong? what does this say on premium BEVs residuals when vehicles get older?