MKI / MKII S type 240 340 & Daimler 1955 - 1967

UK DVLA Historic registration proposals on changes

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2024, 11:39 AM
Veteran Member
Received 1,320 Likes on 990 Posts
Default UK DVLA Historic registration proposals on changes

The UK licensing and vehicle registration authority, the DVLA, has requested comments and suggestions concerning the registration of classic vehicles:

https://www.gov.uk/government/calls-...ed-to-electric

The UK Federation of British Historic Vehicle Cubs, FBHC, has prepared a response on which they also request suggestions and comments:

https://evidence.fbhvc.co.uk/

The existing DVLA rules are

https://assets.publishing.service.go...139.1559037120

and

https://www.gov.uk/government/public...anges-criteria

I’ve given the links but don’t feel obliged to read it all unless you decide to send in some responses.

I should say that I am an over qualified engineer and have some experience with standards and codes of practice as I’ve written a large part of the ISO standards for the design and analysis of offshore oil and gas installations.

There are a few points that I would say are wrong in the DVLA’s existing rules and not all of those have been suitably addressed in the response from FBHC. I’ve completed the FBHC response form, but I’m just one voice; more responses to them and they are more likely to adjust their view.

There are a lot of details that need work, but here I’ll list a few major points:

First, the rules have to be self-consistent. At present, they aren’t and FBHVC haven’t done anything to change that. In particular, statements implying that no changes to a vehicle monocoque are permitted and that vehicles should be completely original essentially rule out all restoration work on a car and the smallest modification (such as making a hole in a bulkhead for a tube or cable). Elsewhere in the documents, such repairs are listed as acceptable.