New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

Hello, happy to join the jaguar family!

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2022, 10:17 PM
Received 16 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Hello, happy to join the jaguar family!

Good evening. I am new to the forum, a proud Pennsylvania owner of a British Racing green 2013 XJL supercharged 5.0, the most beautiful car I have ever owned and one of the most reliable as compared to my previous Lexus and 400 E Mercedes. Here is my problem: check engine light went on yellow…gas cap reset didn’t change warning…brought to my dealer since purchase and they told me that it was no emergency…told me they could take a look in six weeks (?!?) and feel free to drive as normal but call if it started running rough or went into limp home mode. Now I am not a car professional but I really felt uncomfortable with that advice. Wondered if they just no longer wanted to keep me as a client since car has reached 125k and officially now old! Long story, I brought it to a “jaguar authorized” independent service garage and they diagnosed two stretched timing chains, one jumped, and the chain guides both shot. The only symptom I saw, beside the check engine light, was slightly reduced gas mileage. They reported hearing a noise on start up and shut down. The diagnostic error code was P0017-00. They have quoted $12k to repair. I admit to suffering from massive PTSD from my previous Mercedes service nightmares and I am very scared to start down another bottomless pit of problems…but on the other hand I adore my car and it has been so great until now. I cannot get a new XJL and don’t feel comfortable that a 3-5 year old pre owned is a good fit for me either. Questions: 1/ new shop has not specifically told me that the engine is unharmed from the jumped chain. Is this a legit concern and are there any other things I need to check before proceeding wi