New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

Hello, new member! Need some advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2012 | 08:19 PM
|
Default Hello, new member! Need some advice

I cheated a bit, I've joined before actually purchasing my first Jag. The one I'm looking very closely at is a 1984 XJS V12 Coupe that is being sold in what appears to be very good condition in a mass-sale car lot. Anyway, before I go to check it out, I was wondering if anyone could look at a few pictures of it and maybe tell me if there's anything immediately strikingly wrong about it?? I have no experience with Jags and so I would greatly appreciate anyone's opinion on this car.

Here is the link to its auction page:
Rebuildable JAGUAR XJS for sale in CT - HARTFORD 1984 year rebuildable vehicle | Copart Auto Auction Broker Lot 21096742

It is labelled as "Rebuildable" and that gives me great concern, but for the life of me I can't see what is not fully built about it! The engine looks like everything's there, it says it runs, and it has a clear title. Does anyone here have experience with online auction sites, or know exactly what 'rebuildable,' entails?

Old 11-16-2012 | 08:29 PM
Veteran Member

it looks marvelous. I dont see any dings or even any rust. Maybe rust out underneath?

The following users liked this post:
Aeten (11-16-2012)
Old 11-16-2012 | 08:39 PM
|

Thanks for the fast reply, I suppose maybe it could be rust underneath, I hope not, did you see any potential engine issues? Those are what I'm really concerned about, and as I said I have no experience with these.

Old 11-16-2012 | 11:33 PM

Welcome to the forum Aeten,

Good to have you with us.