New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

"Hello There!" from Bloomfield, NJ

Search this Thread

Old 09-03-2011, 07:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default "Hello There!" from Bloomfield, NJ

Hi. My name is Carmine J. Carella, I'm an auto tech that finally decided to get my own Jaguar. For years I've been into Japanese cars, I always admired British cars for their higher standards but was scared of the stories I was told.
About 6 years ago my Father bought my Mother a 1998 XJ8 (for a real good price) & after about 2 weeks the car developed a noise. After changing the oil one day I went to start the car & all it did was make a loud noise & not start. To make a short story long, the timing chain went & the valves bent.
At the time the local Jaguar dealer said it would cost around $13,000 to fix. So I decided, how hard could it be to fix this myself. I bought all the special tools to do the timing set up & with the help of Coventry West, my Mother still drives the car today.
This ability to repair these "newer style" Jaguars led to my Father buying
a 1997 XK8 & my Sister a 2000 XJ8. But I always liked the XJS, I figured the older Jaguars can't be that much harder to fix than the new ones. So I found a 1995 XJS 4.0 convertible with a bad motor.
In my search for a used motor I was told about a 1996 XJ6 for $900 that was in an accident. I bought the XJ6, brought it home & decided it was too nice to take apart. Soon I found a motor for $400 close to home. I put the motor in & fell in love! I've been driving the car for about a month & I can't describe the pleasure of driving this car around with the top down, but it's close to perfection.
Well that's my story. Sorry it was sooo long. Hopefully soon I can get my XJ6 on the road for the colder months & put the XJS away till the spring. Thanks for listening.

Old 09-03-2011, 09:08 PM
Gus
Veteran Member