New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

I pulled the plug!

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2013 | 10:30 AM
|
Smile I pulled the plug!

Hey guys (and gals), my name is Dennis from KC and I STILL cannot believe I just bought a Jag.
My wife and I were used car shopping - looking for an Impala or Fusion, something of that nature. We stopped at a dealer in our area (not brand name dealership - but good rep nonetheless) to look and didn't really see anything we liked. The salesman walked us over to this BEAUTIFUL dark green 06 Jag S-Type (I shrugged, kept walking - wife stayed and looked). 10 minutes later wife said salesman said car was in our price range. I said no way (I drive a Ford Focus!). I had 9 thousand cash to spend and and told her I worked for a living and couldn't afford a luxury sport sedan.
We ended up test driving this immaculate car and my wife and I were both in AWE. Us? In a Jaquar? The car drove absolutely perfect. We got back to the dealership and the sales rep brought us clean, one-owner carfax with no accidents and all maintainence records. The car has 113K miles on it. We bought it for 9K out the door.
We've had it for a month now and the car is an absolute dream. My question (as it was the day we bought it) is cost of ownership. Premium gas and higher insurance rates have made it more expensive to own than say - a Fusion. These 2 things I can adjust to - I'm just worried about costs if this thing breaks down. I'm currently looking for a local mechanic that can do basic maintainence to avoid dealership costs.
So, am I over my head here? I hope not. This is my wifes car and believe you me she is turning some heads in the Wal-mart parking lot! Our family members can't believe it!
Cheers to everybody here and looking forward to chatting with you all.

Old 03-04-2013 | 10:34 AM
GGG

Welcome to the forum Dennis,