New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

Which Jag should I buy?

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2017, 07:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Which Jag should I buy?

So I am new to the Jaguar scene but decided the best place to get advice would be a Jaguar forum.

Currently own:
2003 Saab 9-5 Aero Wagon
1983 Skoda 120LS
1985 Skoda 120GLS
1986 Skoda 120GLS
1989 Kawasaki ZX10
2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600

I have now decided to dabble in Jaguars. Which should I get? Info First Pics Second

1988 Jaguar XJ-S V12 TWR $3000
55,xxx kms
No rust.
Right rear tail light is lose, some of the TWR Molding is loose.
Some panel wood splintering
Needs tranny mounts
Instrument cluster in intermitent
Front Brakes
Rear sway bars
Driver window won't go back up after coming down
Leather is a bit worse for wear but not fully cut.
Wiper Motors are seized.

OR

2000 Jaguar XK8 $4300
243,000kms
Headliner is toast, and the previous owner (I kid you not...) stapled the sagging headliner into the roof.
It is in performance reduced mode Apparently needs two new knock sensors. Speedometer does not work.
Apparently spent $4000 on new wheels tires brakes including jaguar calipers.
It also *clunks* when you put it into D. And ONLY when you put it in to D not out, just in, and the rest of the gears shift fine. ?

Picture time:

Old 09-24-2017, 08:11 AM
Received 6,327 Likes on 4,370 Posts

Welcome to the forum.

Old 09-24-2017, 09:37 AM
Veteran Member
Received 9,463 Likes on 5,466 Posts

Ignoring for a moment that I'm not a fan of flying buttresses nor quarter-round tail lights, the XJS is some years older than the XK8, and even at 'only' $3000 will doubtless cost you at Least that much to make right given all the problems you know about. I'm sure there is more than one reason a car 30 years old has such low mileage.