New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

Mid Tennessee Jag Lover

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2013, 10:53 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Mid Tennessee Jag Lover

Hello Jag Lovers, I have a strange story to relate. I've been a lover of Jaguars since Edward Woodward did a handbrake turn into a curb during the opening credits of The Equalizer. At least that's how I remember it...

I'm an Art Teacher in Middle Tennessee and the wife and I have decided that since all our friends have kids and their weekends are always full, we need to find me a hobby. No kids equals a lot of free time. She's tired of me moping around the house on the weekends. So after much discussion, we agreed that I needed a project car. For the past several months I've been looking at a variety of makes and models. The wife loves Jags. I love Jags. We decided that if we're going to pay for insurance on a third vehicle, it should be something we both enjoy driving.

She refuses to learn how to drive a manual, so the 1975 Porsche 911 is out. That and the rust it had on it. Our budget is @ $3k.

After trying to buy four different XJ6's, I was about to give up. Then a co-worker mentioned to me that his wife's uncle drove a beautiful Jag before he died. I asked if her aunt still had the car and if she was willing to sell it. He called her.

Yes, she had it. After a few weeks of back and forth with his wife's 84 year old aunt, she finally has agreed to "interview" me to inherit her deceased husband's Jag. That will happen this weekend. Cross your fingers, I'm dealing with "Mrs. Daisy."

Here are the details: