New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

New member from California. XJR probs..

Search this Thread

Old 10-19-2012, 10:53 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking New member from California. XJR probs..

Hello All.

My name is Michael an i'm not a Jag owner. My mother took her car to the dealer for what should have been a routine coolant leak, but it turns out the line is in a hard spot get to... Under the supercharger. They quoted her $2100. USD.

So, being semi mechanical i decided to tackle this project. I have an MB E500 and a Hummer H2, and i do most of my mechanical stuff on them. By trade i fix industrial circuit breakers.

I've got most parts in my way removed, plastics, coolant rez, intake plenum, that metal housing that sits over supercharger.... but after much searching, i see where i am stuck. The Damned EGR valve. I have no clue how i'm going to get it out. I get frustrated easy lol.

I found the thread on somebodies STR supercharger removal so i am using that as a general guidline. I did not find one specifically for the XJR. So if i find anything different, or any tricks, i will creat a new thread.

Wish me luck.

Michael.
PS, if you guys have any advice it is much appreciated.

Old 10-19-2012, 11:30 AM
Received 6,330 Likes on 5,516 Posts

Welcome to the forum Michael,

Good to have you with us.
You have obviously fund the tech sections, you may want to ask the question there for more ideas.
Good luck with the repair.
Enjoy the forum.

If you haven't done so already you should add your car details to your signature to help others to help you.

The following users liked this post:
chipdouglas40 (10-29-2012)
Old 10-19-2012, 12:49 PM
GGG
Received 16,864 Likes on 12,186 Posts

You're finding out just how awkward those coolant lines are to access.