New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

New Member Intro

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2013 | 02:06 PM
|
Default New Member Intro

Hi from California!

Although I am not technically "new" to the forum, I never got around to setting up my profile or doing a proper intro....so, better late than never, right?

I am a stay-at-home mom to 3 kids (7, 10 & 15) who get hauled around in the most expensive taxi known to man -- or so my hubby says-- my 2000 Jaguar XJ8 Vanden Plas. She's silver with black leather interior and walnut trim and makes me feel a little less like my entire life revolves around cub scouts, soccer and cheerleading.

I bought my Jag about 2 years ago from the original owner, who took meticulous care of it....all service records, clean interior, garaged, the whole nine yards.
My hubby (who is only slightly mechanically inclined, and only with American makes) discouraged my purchase due to the high price of repairs and the fact that I commute/taxi kids 100+ miles per day on average. I- my mind set on this beautiful vehicle- debated the fact that it was mechanically sound, had most of the high-mileage repairs typical for VDP already performed the year prior, and the gas mileage being on average 22mpg. I won.

I've since had several brain-wracking, frustrating issues when it comes to repairs....but fortunately they have not emptied my children's college accounts because my hubby has an employee that used to be a mechanic that does side work for us for little more than the cost of parts.