New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

New Member, New Jag -- My Wife Hasn't Killed Me Yet

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2017, 01:45 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default New Member, New Jag -- My Wife Hasn't Killed Me Yet

Hiya, all, from surprisingly sunny Seattle!

I just bought my first Jag, a 2004 S Type R. It's got high miles, needs major work on the steering, and the body needs a lot of love -- eventually. I bought this car very cheaply, and am excited to start working on it, not only for the hobby, but because I've always loved this car and the blown V8 sounds amazing right now.

Any tips and tricks for getting started? A common thread is buying a JTIL manual. I'm a DIY noob and have some basic parts and jack-stands; I'm trying to do as much as possible without having to borrow a shop's hydraulic lift.

Thanks!

Old 05-22-2017, 01:55 PM
GGG
Received 16,852 Likes on 12,186 Posts

Welcome to the forum ShiftDriftDream,

Good to have you with us at Jaguar forums.

Follow this link https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/s...ed-v8-x200-15/ to the S-Type forum for help, advice and information.
The 'HOW TO' thread at the top is a good place to start for information on regular issues.

The Workshop Manual is JTIS (Jaguar Technical Information System). You could buy it or it's available as a free download in General Tech Help forum:

https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/g...rchives-65926/

Please remember to add vehicle details to your Signature to help others to give relevant advice. Go to the User CP button on the left of the top menu bar, then Settings & Options under Your Control Panel. Select Edit Signature and enter the details.

You can also visit the US Northwest Region forum by following this link https://www.jaguarforums.com/forum/us-northwest-64/
to find other members in your region.

Enjoy the forums.

Graham