New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

New Member, Potential Owner

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2014 | 11:52 AM
|
Default New Member, Potential Owner

Good morning, looking at a co-worker's '97 XJ6L and wanted to drop in and say howdy in case I end up buying it. He is going to bring it down from his parents house next week and let me drive it around for a couple days and check it out. Naturally, I am curious if anyone has any particulars for me to watch out for, known weaknesses or tell-tale signs of impending doom.
As for me, I am an inveterate shade-tree mechanic, I don't own a single car newer than my '00 Jeep Wrangler, nor a motorcycle newer than 1985. Since my son wrapped our Avalon around a tree a couple weeks ago I can now say that every car I own has well over 200k on the clock. I am currently bringing my daughter's '96 Benz C280 up to snuff to pass TX inspection, so no fear of euro weirdness, either.
Anyway, feel free to load me up with a list of things to watch for, and I will update once I can set my hands on the car and give it a going over.
Thanks.

Old 12-26-2014 | 03:39 PM
GGG

Welcome to the forum Tylerman,

Good to have you with us at Jaguar forums.

Follow this link XJ X300 / XJR - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum to the X300 forum for help, advice and information.
The 'HOW TO' thread at the top is a good place to start for info on regular issues.

You can also visit the USA Southwest Region forum by following this link USA Southwest - AZ TX NM OK - Jaguar Forums - Jaguar Enthusiasts Forum
to find other members in your region.

Enjoy the forums.

Graham

Old 12-26-2014 | 03:40 PM
Veteran Member

If you're a skilled shade tree mechanic, you'll get on Just Fine with an older Jaguar! They appreciate experienced mechanics.
Welcome to the forums from ElinorB.
(';')

Old 12-27-2014 | 12:28 AM

Welcome to the forum