New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

New Member - Pretty hyped!

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2012, 04:58 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Talking New Member - Pretty hyped!

Hey all! So, I think I've been here before, when I was trying to fix my parents' 2003 S-type. It's got a few *minor* issues, I'll outline them after I get a little intro about me and my newbie-ness to these parts.

I'm 21, and I'm in my 4th year at the University at Buffalo, double majoring in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Even though I live, breathe, and eat engineering, I'm pretty inexperienced when it comes to cars. After my last semester, I was fed up with not having a car, so I decided I would purchase a used car. Figuring I had about $5000 to spend on an automobile, I sifted through autotrader, trying to find something that was practical in my situation. After looking through hundreds of ads, I had a few hopefuls, but my parents kept telling me to hold off on pulling the trigger.

Finally, we sat down and had a chat, and they said they still didn't want me to buy a car, and that they'd rather give me their black 2003 S-type. Needless to say, I was floored, but I did my best to be very mature about it, and promised to the end that I will be very responsible with it. I will be paying my fair-share of the insurance on it, and for my own gas. I'll also probably be taking part of the $5000 that I don't have to spend on a car to improve the Jag.

My parents purchased it in early 2010, used, with 60k miles, great running condition, for about $12k. It was in decent cosmetic condition until my mother started driving it. I consider myself to be a good, responsible driver, and I'm the designated driver whenever my dad isn't around (he is a professional chauffeur.)

So, minor things that I'd really like to care of, (in no particular order):