New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

Thinking about buying a cat. Hi, all

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2017 | 04:18 PM
|
Default Thinking about buying a cat. Hi, all

New to the forum. I have been looking at Jags for some time now and I'm getting ready to pull the trigger. I'm mostly familiar with German cars and have owned a few Mercs and Bimmers, but I think I might venture to the world of British cars this time.

My background is hotrodding; custom cars, mostly american iron from '51 to '76, so I'm no stranger to a wrench.

I'm Curtis. Pleased to meet you all.

Long story short, I usually have several cars in my stable. Right now I have an 02 F150 for work (theater tech director), as well as a 96 Impala SS, a 67 LeMans Convertible, a 66 Bonneville, and a 99 Kawasaki Vulcan Nomad. I'm strongly considering selling the 96 SS and replacing it with a classy ride. The budget is somewhere around $5k, which makes Euro luxury cars a good pick... provided you pick the right one. Some are money pits that drain the wallet and others are reliable choices. For instance, my last Euro car was a 99 E300TD that gave me 204k miles of zero trouble. I look for gems like that; cars that depreciate hard by association, but they themselves are actually reliable gems.

Which brings me to my conundrum. I have my list narrowed down to the following:

-E38 BMW, preferably an 01 740iL sport
-C32 AMG, but that is a bit on the small side.
-X308 VDP or maybe XJR
-CLS55, but hard to find one for less than $8k
-Something else that you folks might suggest