New Member Area - Intro a MUST New to Jaguar Forums? Drop in and tell us about you, your ride and location. This is your chance to introduce yourself to the forum.

Young Newbie from Down Under! '71 XJ6

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2016, 03:57 AM
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Talking Young Newbie from Down Under! '71 XJ6

Hey all! Long-time stalker turned member from Adelaide, Australia.

About me
I'm an 18 y/o guy with a passion for old cars, in particular the Jaguars that we all know and love. I'm a passionate self-employed programmer, my business revolves around creating online enterprise solutions for ordering, rostering, training, and so on. I'm also quite the gamer, in my free time I manage a small PC gaming community. I have a reasonable amount of general mechanical understanding, but very little experience.

How I entered the Jag-owners club
When I was 13 I found this faded blue XJ6 Series 2 up for $1,300. Apparently it had a couple of engine problems, but I was pretty eager to get my hands on a vintage car. However at the time I was working in fast food and only had $700 banked away with no hope of a loan from the old man. Unfortunately, that one slipped through my hands and was sold a week or so later Something about losing that blue XJ6 made me want a Jaguar even more, being the arrogant and persistent kid that I am, I knew that nothing would stop me.

I got lucky however, as this beautiful '71 XJ6 with a 4.2L engine was put up for only $3,000. No joke, this was the hardest car purchase EVER. I was calling the guy literally every day, trying to find a time that suited him to go and take a look at the car. Got a feeling he was pretty sick of me and agreed to let me come and check out the Jag purely to shut me up Ended up haggling $1,000 off the price and got the car towed back home.

My Jaguar