S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2002 s type p1383 and p1388 help!

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2021, 04:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 s type p1383 and p1388 help!

Hey guys I'm a Ford tech here and while I'm waiting on my new raptor to be delivered, I'm borrowing grandparents 02 s type 3.0L. I have been slowly fixing it up, struts, suspension, throttle body, valve cover leaks, plugs, transmission solenoid body ect. It has 145k miles and been serviced regularly. It's been sitting for awhile but has had 400-500 miles on it with plenty of gas ran through it and oil change with 5w30. I have been having a random issue that hopefully someone can advise on. I will have my Matco scanner updated and ready for use tomorrow but here is the current issue. Upon driving cold in the morning, it will shift normal, little harsh/delayed but not bad for a 20 year old vehicle. After driving for 20 mins In normal mode(not sport) the gear box light will come on and the only dtcs are p1383, p1388. The trans will not shift out of first gear normally, acts like it's stuck in neutral. Sometimes I have to pull over, shut vehicle off, and then restart and it's good for a mile or two then repeats. If I drive in sport mode it's fine for 30-45 mins nearing an hour it'll do the same thing but not as stupid acting. It always only throws those dtcs. I just can't correlate what timing has to do with trans shifting as it runs great when cold and under 30 mins of driving! No noise, no slipping no nothing it's great. When I did the valve cover gaskets I pulled the vvt solenoids and checked them, there clean and free of debris. I just would like some help as to what could be causing this issue more so when hot and sport mode seems to prolong it more. We do not have a jag dealer close that can work on these older vehicles😞. I'm a Ford tech for 8 years with lots of experience in timing chains ect, but I'd hate to dive that f