S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 S-Type R Sport Headlights

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2016, 11:30 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default 2003 S-Type R Sport Headlights

This is my first post and want to first thank all of you in advance for your answers and help. I'm not a mechanic and the first car I pick to work on is the car listed in the title...go figure eh?

Question;
Driver headlamp has burnt out twice within 1.5yrs time. Now the passenger side is needing replacing. I want to switch up to LED but see the two major differences in lamps. One with a builtin fan and the other with a copper core cooling thru cooper braids. I read the copper braids are the newer tech, anyone have any experience in this? Some require the removal or center drilling out the cap to allow for size of bulb and extra cooling benefits. Does this allow moisture to enter the lens area?

Fan or copper cooling, anyone can help me? Thanks!

Also, anyone trying to find rotors for a 2003 S-Type R Sport 4.2 twin turbo supercharger or similar. I found to be the best fit were the EBC Brakes USR1602 Rotors with the EBC Brakes DP31462C. Les Schwab and a local Auto Repair was not able to find proper rotors after (6) tries between them. No joke, hard to match, these are larger and deeper then standards. Searched internet and ended up contacting EBC directly for match and according to my wife, these feel so smooth, no flutter or wobble and stop NOW!

Old 08-30-2016, 12:24 PM
Red face "Sorry about the Headlight Question"

After I opened this forum I saw at the top right where it says: "No Technical Questions." Sorry, I did try to delete but wasn't able to find how. Please forgive me for my lack of attention to observations and detail.

Old 09-02-2016, 03:42 AM
Received 22 Likes on 20 Posts

Hello,

I have the one without the fan, latest tech.
There is a large rubber seal that does the job done without getting water in.