Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 s-type r scanner wont read

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2014, 09:37 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2005 s-type r scanner wont read

I have a similar problem to the thread below this one but a little different

I got to work two sundays ago with no problem, went to go home and nothing, car and lights and everything powered up, but as usual, the dash read ABS Fault, DSC unavailable, Drivers door open, Gearbox Fault, ParkBrake Fault.... blah blah blah. get it towed to a local jaguar mechanic and not one of there scanners will connect or read anything, he does all kinds of tests and cant come up with anything. he then says he needs to tow it to Berkshire Motors in Toronto who have a jaguar scanner and specialize in jags, guess what they cant read anything either.
Now logic would tell me it is the ecm or a short between the port and the computer, but I am no expert. I tried a search but cant see anyone with with this specific problem or maybe someone has some advice or has experienced this problem, it has been going on two weeks and no answers yet
also does anyone know the cost of a new ecm if that is the problem

Thanks in advance,
Cheers, Dave

Old 05-08-2014, 10:31 AM
Veteran Member
Received 221 Likes on 170 Posts

I'd first try a new, fully charged battery, and check all fuses are ok before I start looking for wiring problems, then start with the wiring and pins in the OBD port.

Are they getting a voltage reading from the OBD, as no communication is needed for voltage reading?

Old 05-08-2014, 10:34 AM
Veteran Member
Received 4,528 Likes on 3,938 Posts

It's not likely the PCM or any one module but more likely is wiring.

Grab JTIS and look at the Electrical Guide. There are lots of modules hung off the DLC (OBD port). If none show up then start with checking DLC power & grounds then signals etc.

Don't be shocked if it turns out the fault is in the loom behind the front bumper (or up in wheel arches/wells).