Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 S-type R Track Times

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2011, 10:11 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2005 S-type R Track Times

Hey guys,

I love a 1/4 mile run...Ive had quite a few drag cars.

Always had a truck as my daily driver but in light of my new job (no longer need a truck) and gas prices i recently picked up my stype r for a daily driver.

wellllll since the itch to mash the gas in this thing is too hard to deny and the local speedway opens up next week Im going to bring my car up for the street night test&tune.

Its an 05 STR stock... 43kmi on it now.

I'm a fairly experienced driver so with seat time in the car ill learn to 60' it...

But share your experiences with me on how to launch the car well and what times should i expect!!??

Im guessing most of you just throw it in the "4" poisition on the J-box and leave it in sport mode...But does anyone cross the line before hitting 4th gear?

Thanks guys!!

Old 05-04-2011, 10:34 AM
Veteran Member
Received 217 Likes on 129 Posts

I believe 4 would put you in 4th gear so you aren't going to go anywhere fast. I have never been to a track but when I launch from lights I put it in sport with DSC off and feather the gas there is a sweet spot that if you feather it just right you will get a good lauch then mash the gas and there will be no wheel spin. The trick is to not mash it right at the start otherwise you will spin the tires so its like a half throttle, go, then mash. I hope this is making sense. If you go on a back road you can probably practice it. Most people leave it in D cause it just seems to be better then manually switching gears. I believe the few STR's that have gone to the track are in the 13's anywhere from high to low. Heat soak it whats gonna kill your times after a run or 2 depending on outside temps.

Old 05-04-2011, 11:10 AM