Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2008 S-Type CANbus Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2011, 01:51 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 2008 S-Type CANbus Question

Hi all,

I've been reading the form for the past couple of days trying to find an answer to my question and have had no luck. I'm a Computer Science student working on an in-car research project called RoadLAB at the University of Western Ontario. We have recently switched our testbed from a 2009 Cadillac CTS to 2008 Jaguar S-type, and part of my work is to pull vehicle state data off of the CANbus. My problem is that the Cadillac, was quit, well.. verbose in the data that was available on the CANbus, the S-Type seems much more reserved in the data readily available. (I'm sure there is a British v. American joke there somewhere.) I am thinking that perhaps the instrumentation are on a different bus (LIN?) where data would have to be requested, but I can't seem to find any data on the 2008.

So this is my question, is there a source for technical data on the 2008 S-Type? It must be after Jaguar implemented CAN standards (I think 2008) so the older data on the FAQ page doesn't help me here.

If the data isn't available has anyone had dealings with talking to Jaguar about technical questions like this? (My experience with GM was less than helpful, short of a big cash outlay and promises of bringing a product to market in a relatively short period of time.)

If anyone can point me in the right direction, or point out my inability to find information that exists I would appreciate it as this is becoming quite frustrating. I have directed questions to a couple of departments at Jaguar Canada, but as of yet I haven't heard much.

Cheers,
~EB

Old 08-19-2011, 02:46 PM
Veteran Member
Received 4,514 Likes on 3,926 Posts

There is a vast amount of data available - so much that you are unlikely to want even a fraction of it.

You can get data from almost every module - about 20 of them.