S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Auxillary Water Pump/Aircon v8 4.2

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2017, 08:14 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Auxillary Water Pump/Aircon v8 4.2

I will start with "i am not a Mechanic", so bear with me.
I am in Australia and have a 2004 s-type V8 4.2.
Fuse 32 in engine compartment is blowing, then no cold air, just HOT air. i had an Auto electrician diagnose as faulty air con compressor , when testing current at fuse 32, when air con cuts in and reading jumps to about 20 amps and smoke is seen from AC Compressor. I proceeded to remove the AC Compressor (that was fun on a V8) and in the process i found the Auxillary electric water pump is buggered, electrical connection melted, been shorting due to coolant leak i suspect. Makes me wonder is AC Compressor really buggered ?
My questions are.
1. Is the auxillary pump required for engine cooling or can i just leave wire disconnected, if required, can i use one of these EBP23 (Davies Craig Electric Water Pumps (EWP) Information)
2. How can i find out the Make/Model/Part Number of my existing AC Compressor, no numbers except 2004 on mine.
3. Is it worth trying to service them or just get a new one.
4. Any thing else i should do while it's apart, 175,000Klm on clock.
Any feedback appreciated.
Scott.

Old 01-08-2017, 12:03 AM
Received 1,423 Likes on 1,066 Posts

Originally Posted by scottics
I will start with "i am not a Mechanic", so bear with me.
I am in Australia and have a 2004 s-type V8 4.2.