S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bad Remote

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2013 | 06:39 PM
|
Default Bad Remote

Hi all, I'm a newbie to the Jag scene and am looking for some help. I just purchased a 2003 STR w/ 59000 original miles-beautiful black with platnum leather & black carpetting. Oh yeah, my dilema The key remote has been cleaned and tested (is transmitting signal) but none of the funtions are working i.e. doors/trunk unlocking arm/disarm etc. I am going to pull eacj fuse, spray with dielectric cleaner and try that. Does anyone have any other remedies or old family recipes for me????

Old 03-08-2013 | 12:03 AM

Did you try the valet button in the glove compartment?

Old 03-08-2013 | 08:04 AM
|

Lmao. Why no, no I didn't . Good thing I've ordered a Owners manual!! I will give it a go

Old 03-08-2013 | 10:03 PM
Veteran Member

Sometimes they just lose the nod. Don't know why. When we bought the 03 used, it didn't work....and only one key/FOB, but a trip to the dealer, along with an eBay FOB and purchased key from dealer stock and some fees and I had 2 functioning of everything. (it takes 2 to program one...or a donor key from another car wrapped in foil and a JagTech that knows that trick)

Now, the 05, previously of 2 functioning keys/FOBS status....wifey informs me the other day the "spare" FOB that she almost never uses has quit working and needs a battery.....and it's been a couple of years....so I dutifully set about a KeyFob Batt R&R, but alas...no joy from the FOB with a new battery. I'll get Motorcarman to reprogram it with WDS next time I have it down his way...but it takes the WDS or whatever the new Jag Dealer equivalent software is to program them and get them talking to the car. For your sake, I hope it is just the valet button issue...

Good luck and let us know how you get on

Old 03-09-2013 | 08:49 AM
Veteran Member