S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

battery warning light issue

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2017, 11:06 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default battery warning light issue

Hello i am new to jaguar ownership, and have just brought a 2.7td s type year 2005
It has an intermittent fault . I can drive the car for 200 miles ok, but then just after starting up and maybe doing a mile, the red battery warning light comes on, and will stay on for a mile or two and then go out

When the light is on and the engine running, I get between 13.7 and 13.8 volts at the battery If I check it as soon as the light goes off, I get about 14.20volts
At rest the battery has given anything from 12.45 to 12.8 volts
An obd2 reader has been used and I have no fault codes.
Also on two occasions when the light has come on I have had gearbox fault and the gearbox has locked. Starting the car again clears the gearbox fault.
Once the handbrake warning light also came on saying the handbrake would not engage.
Any ideas on where to start?

Old 06-30-2017, 11:07 AM

should say its an auto gearbox

Old 06-30-2017, 05:18 PM
Veteran Member
Received 4,528 Likes on 3,938 Posts

Read the codes.

Old 06-30-2017, 05:21 PM

Originally Posted by JagV8
Read the codes.
The problem is that the obd2 reader shows no codes.
Ran it twice today.
So no codes, but still have an issue???

Old 06-30-2017, 05:27 PM
Veteran Member

Never heard of one with gearbox fault and no codes. Bad tool?

Old 06-30-2017, 07:13 PM
Veteran Member
Received 2,033 Likes on 1,436 Posts

Hmm...

How old is your battery? These cars are notoriously tough on batteries. A marginal one will still let the car start, but will cause some of the faults you are seeing. The red battery light is fairly rare, though, and may be a separate issue.