S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

best place to buy jag parts

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2012, 11:50 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default best place to buy jag parts

I need to buy chain tensioners for the secondary chains and one secondary chain, my question is should i change all the tensioners or just two upper ones for the secondary chains? Best place to buy all this besides jag dealer, would you trust ebay with this? where can I get tools to loan to adjust timing. If anybody is willing to loan me them I will only transfer money via Paypal.

Old 03-09-2012, 07:44 AM
Received 221 Likes on 98 Posts

I'm a jag tech and i change only the top two as general maintenance. buy tthem online but buy the factory ones.

YOU SHOULD CHANGE THE BOTTOM ONES TECHNICALLY, but people dont like to hear 2500 instead of 1000 dollars. I make the call looking at the condition of the motor, if the inside of your motor looks like shi* then i call changing the whole things. But this is an opinion. My opinion is based on that the couple that I did (I did about 20 - 30) they were starting to crack according to how the engine looked. People that barely change the oil the tensioner was about to come apart, but I had a customer who changed synthetic oil religiously and the tensioner looked new. Again, I dont understand how this makes a lot of sense since the tensioner is made of composite and what brakes it is constant tension which doesn't change much with lubrication, so I don't want to sound like a liar, but I call it how I see it. If you have skill, change all of them. Best of luck! and visit my blog Jaguar HELP!

The following users liked this post:
Amadauss (03-09-2012)
Old 03-09-2012, 07:45 AM

Oh and BTW, i have the jag tools and, no offense, i would lend you my wife before i lending you my tools lol

Old 03-09-2012, 08:13 AM
Received 30 Likes on 25 Posts