S-Type / S type R Supercharged V8 ( X200 ) 1999 - 2008 2001 - 2009
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A/C + Heater Issue. PLEASE Help

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2011, 04:13 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C + Heater Issue. PLEASE Help

I noticed this summer that my A/C wasn't as cold as it had previously been, but, living in San Francisco, it wasn't too bad.

Now that I am back at school (in the midwest) I have noticed that my heater doesn't work. The fan seems to work fine, blowing air all the way to the highest level. The problem is it seems to be just blowing the cold air from outside or recycling the cold air from the inside. I'm curious about three things:

(1) What do you think this problem stems from?

(2) Is this a problem that a complete novice (I can change a car battery and a tire with no problem, but that is the extent of my knowledge) can remedy?

(3) If I have this done by a professional, what do you think it will cost?

Thank you so much in advance for any response!

Old 01-13-2011, 04:58 PM
Received 19 Likes on 19 Posts

HI..
i had the same problem.
but his particular topic has been discussed many times in the forum
this is due to the failing of DCCV (dual climate control valve).
for my STR it seems to be a common problem, not sure about your car.

i've been meaning to the repair my self, it seems easy, but i do wish some one did post a picture's or video clips on how to do this.
I do think it will involve draining the coolant.

Old 01-13-2011, 05:18 PM
Veteran member
Received 194 Likes on 170 Posts

To ***court28... Please post details about your car.. two "generations" and many drivetrains.. So, put car details in your signature.
That said, it is most likely the DCCV. You could probably tackle it yourself. It is a bit hard to get to, but not as bad as many other things..Again, not easy to say without knowing what car you have..